top of page
Description of Mobile
Newburyport Herald (Newburyport, MA) March 19, 1822
Philadelphia Inquirer, February 23, 1822
Steamships Accelerate Communication
Between The Gulf Coast Ports, 1827
The Steam Packet and U.S. mail boat Columbia, Capt. Leach, from this port, has arrived at Mobile, and was to begin to run between that place and New Orleans in a few days, three times a week. She will carry the mail, and can accommodate 50 passengers in an elegant cabin. The boat is coppered and copper fastened to the bends, 105 feet keel, 131 tons burthen, and has a low pressure engine.
Boston Traveler, August 14, 1827
Fire of 1827 -- Coming Soon!
Spring Hill Incorporated into the City of Mobile, 1827
Vincent-Walsh House on Spring Hill Avenue, constructed in 1827 for Benjamin and Ann Church Vincent, is possibly the oldest extant structure in Mobile. It is occupied today by the
Mobile Medical Museum
bottom of page